Top 10 Best Foods Ever


I was at dinner last night when I exclaimed: “Eating is my favorite thing EVER.” Between the warm beet salad with smoked gouda, the meatballs covered in the most delicious tomato sauce, the broccoli risotto with grana padano and truffle oil, the perfectly salted bread dipped in olive oil, and the banana bread with peanut butter sauce and chocolate whipped cream… I was in heaven. Sure, I love cooking food, and I especially love baking, but above all else I love EATING. So it seemed appropriate to make a list of my top 10 favorite foods… aka the TOP 10 BEST FOODS EVER.

#10 Cotton Candy

Image

Oh yes. The #1 reason why I get so excited for any type of state fair or carnival: THERE WILL BE COTTON CANDY! Even the smell of it is amazing, which is proven by the cotton candy scented diffuser sitting on my desk right now. It’s just so fluffy and sugary and perfect.

#9 Bacon

Image

Bacon should be on everyone’s top 10 list… it’s just that simple. It’s greasy and fatty and so, so good. It’s great wrapped around other foods, sprinkled in them, or on top of them… but I think it’s best just hot and crispy right out of the pan.

#8 Chocolate

Image

Chocolate is another no-brainer. I love it in every form. In a heart-shaped box, filled with various creams. In bar form. Bite-sized. Filled with caramel. Studded with chunks of sea salt. Milk, dark, or white. Melted with fruit dipped into it. Adding the perfect finish to s’mores. Chocolate is most certainly the key to my heart.

#7 Sushi

Screen Shot 2013-10-16 at 4.18.35 PM

Sushi is one of those foods that I could have for almost every meal. Spicy tuna, tempura fried, sweet potato, veggie, teriyaki salmon… YUM.

#6 Pesto

Screen Shot 2013-10-16 at 4.20.38 PM

Oh my lawd. Basil pesto. SO GOOD. I make a killer version at home with basil, lots of spinach, garlic, lemon juice, salt & pepper, and… an avocado. It makes it SO CREAMY and delicious.

#5 Cannolis

Screen Shot 2013-10-16 at 4.25.10 PM

Oh goodness. If I am ANYWHERE and they’re selling cannolis, I have to snatch up at least one. Whether it’s a high end bakery or a hole-in-the-wall sandwich shop… I can’t resist.

#4 Ice Cream

Screen Shot 2013-10-16 at 4.26.48 PM

This category covers a lot of ground, really. I like pretty much ANY AND ALL FORMS of ice cream. I love fancy gelato from Whole Foods that costs $7 per pint. I love Ben & Jerry’s. I love Haagen-Dazs. I love ice cream sandwiches, both the chocolate form and the cookie form. I love cheap (well, not so much anymore) treats from the ice cream truck, like Sonic the Hedgehog, King Cone, and snow cones. I like ice cream with hot fudge, with caramel, with marshmallow, with nuts and whipped cream and sprinkles (and definitely with a cherry on top). I love it in a bowl with crushed up Reese’s cups or mixed up with maple syrup. I love root beer floats, homemade ice cream, ice cream cake, hot fudge sundaes, banana splits, blizzards… I even love the soy, coconut, and almond milk versions. You can’t go wrong with ice cream!

#3 Avocado

Screen Shot 2013-10-16 at 4.32.33 PM

Avocado is just perfect. It has this amazing nutty flavor paired with the creamy texture… heaven. I love avocado in all kinds of things — scrambled eggs, salads, breakfast sandwiches — but I think it’s best just eaten with a spoon right out of its shell with a sprinkle of salt & pepper.

#2 Cheese

Screen Shot 2013-10-16 at 4.34.43 PM

Oh, cheese. You wonderful thing, you. Cheese is just… amazing. Paired with anything, melted on anything, stuck in the middle of anything… perfect. Smoked gouda, havarti, ricotta, camembert, swiss, grana padano, sharp cheddar, mascarpone, pepper jack, asiago, brie, manchego, pecorino romano, jarlsberg, cream cheese, parmigiano-reggiano, muenster, mozzarella, chevre, emmental, monterey jack, taleggio, cotija… be still my heart!

#1 Tacos

Screen Shot 2013-10-16 at 4.41.27 PM

Tacos! The one food on this list that I think I truly COULD eat for every meal. And to be honest, I like the cheapest, most Americanized version of tacos the best. Hard shell, ground beef, basic veggies, and cheap, store-bought seasoning. YUM.

So, this now begs the question: what are YOUR favorite foods?

2 thoughts on “Top 10 Best Foods Ever

  1. I’m totally with you on the Cannoli, Sushi, and Ice Cream!! I’d have to add Carmel Cremes, Sweedish Fish, and Starbursts- I thought about putting them all under the category “Chewy Candy” but they each come with their own distinct craving and deserve to be separate! Um…French Crepes with butter and cinnamon and sugar. Carambolas and Mangos are my healthy indulgences! And finally Rolos! Yup, my name is Laura and I’m a Chewy Candie Junkie! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

