Letting Go


I’ve noticed a pattern in my daily thinking. At least 75% of the time I am worrying about something. Whether it be related to work, my relationship, when to hop in the shower, whether or not some hypothetical situation will play out (and the repercussions of that hypothetical situation)… there’s almost always SOMETHING plaguing my mind. It’s just how I am. I’m fully aware that worrying does nothing except stress me out, but that doesn’t really do much to stop it. But that’s not what this post is about.

Occasionally, I achieve peace of mind. I can’t pinpoint why or how, I am just grateful when it happens. It’s a simple matter of acknowledging that SOMETHING will happen, good or bad, and that I can’t do anything to control it and I will deal with it when it happens. And — and this is important — even if it is bad, it will be manageable. More than manageable, it will be totally fine. So I don’t stress about it. I don’t constantly roll it around in my brain. I just let it BE. And ya know what? 99% of the time, the outcome that I was hoping for happens. It just comes to me. I have to believe this isn’t a coincidence. It’s proof that letting things go, even (and especially) the small ones, comes with great rewards.

2 thoughts on “Letting Go

  1. This is a very important realization to make (though it’d be a lot better if it was easier to implement it on a full-time basis). What helps me is to remember that tomorrow hasn’t happened yet, that it’s not as if I’ve already failed in some future time and I’m just waiting to go through it. No idea if that makes sense. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

