Doing Good in the Face of Adversity


As I drove home yesterday, I was in a particularly alert, happy mood. I decided I wanted to reciprocate that happiness by being kind to those around me while driving — stopping to let someone pull out of a parking space, stopping to let someone cross the street, things like that. I wasn’t doing it for anything in return. Yet, somehow, people on the road were generally being assholes to me (rather they were just being assholes to everyone and I was being affected by it) — cutting me off, tailing my ass, and not letting me in anywhere I needed to go. I had a quick flash of a thought at one point: Why the hell isn’t this good coming back around? And in the back of my head: Why am I being so good when no one’s being good back to me?

Obviously this is silly for a few reasons. Karma doesn’t work that quickly, nor should it. But ultimately I don’t want to be a person who does good for others simply to receive it in return. It’s one of the most difficult things in life… being good just for the sake of it. Just because it can be rare. You can impact peoples’ lives in a positive way. You can make someone’s day. You can revive someone’s hope for humanity.

Ultimately… you should treat others the way you want to be treated, but you can’t force others to treat you that way in return. Karma is something much bigger than us, and it DOES come back around… often in ways that are completely unexpected.

One thought on “Doing Good in the Face of Adversity

  1. I kinda wish there was a “like” button for your posts 😉 I always try to make eye contact with and smile at people as I walk past them in a parking lot. I always hold doors open for people and say “Bless You!” loudly when someone sneezes. But I stopped being nice in traffic a LOONG time ago! Nothing pisses me off more than some Masshole igniting my road rage 🙂 But I agree- if karma came back around too quickly it wouldn’t be as deliciously satisfying as it is when it’s worth the wait 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

