This Year I…


Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 2.53.42 PM

I was inspired by Kaylah at The Dainty Squid (I mean really though, when am I NOT inspired by her!?) to do a “This Year I…” post, which she’s done for the past several years. I LOVE any kind of recap post. I love looking back at past years, past events, past photos. I love reliving old memories. It makes me smile to see all of the fun things I did, the amazing food I ate, the people I spent time with. It was a freaking blast to get all of these photos together so I hope you like looking through them! Every single photo was taken with Instagram, naturally — my phone rarely leaves my side and for good reason. 😉

The year was kicked off with an amazing trip to New Orleans with my sister-in-law, Becka. I was hired to photograph a wedding down there and we extended the trip so we could do some sightseeing. It was, in a word, INCREDIBLE and I would go back in a second. We got to sip hurricanes at Pat O’Briens, saw the beginnings of the Mardi Gras decor (which was EVERYWHERE), ate alligator (twice!), went on a ghost tour, and tried some king cake (not a fan).

390132120

While there I got my photo taken with a REAL LIVE BANKSY OMG.

Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 2.58.14 PM

We also got to witness a wedding parade while we dined on the balcony of a fancy restaurant. Even more awesome than you’d expect.

Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 3.01.29 PM

We also walked all the way up (down?) Bourbon Street which was… well, exactly what I expected, honestly. Lots of titty bars, lots of neon signs, street performers, dive bars, pizza joints, and tons and tons of drunk people.

390136799

I got to see my brother’s very first art show at Bonobo. They provided pizza and drinks and he got to mingle and schmooze a bunch of family and friends while we all admired his paintings. So awesome!

Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 3.04.49 PM

I made some mostly-awesome-but-sometimes-questionable purchases.

390139125

We spent so much time outside and going on walks. We went to the boulevard, played in the snow, tossed balls, chewed on sticks (okay, Mukow did), ran like crazy, had fun with the neighbor dogs, explored through the woods, and played at the beach.

390140967

I spent a few days in Brooklyn with my brother, Gray, and his girlfriend, Esther. Again, I was hired to shoot a wedding there so we made a fun trip out of it. We explored on foot, ate some incredible food, saw the Brooklyn Bridge, went to the craziest Chipotle I’ve ever seen, considered getting some gold teef, and enjoyed the city life.

390142568

I also got to see the view of the skyline at night from Brooklyn Bridge Park, which deserves its very own photo. Incredible.

Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 3.09.05 PM

Nate and I played 328 games of UNO. It’s one of our favorite things to do together to unwind after a long day. We’re currently tied 164 to 164. 😉

Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 3.12.04 PM

I took SO MANY photos of animals — both our own and our families’.

390146426 390147354

We spent a ton of time with our families. Dinners, drinks, holidays, parties, farm walks, BBQs, projects, walks, and just plain lounging around and playing board games.

390148911

I sipped SO many amazing beverages, alcoholic and non. This is just the tip of the iceberg! Gin and tonics, bloody marys, milkshakes, fancy cocktails, hard cider, hot cocoa, and all kinds of deliciousness with sugared rims, foam swirls, and garnishes galore.

390150225

I traveled to Washington DC (for the second time!) with my mom and Nate. We got to see some family as well as the Washington Monument, the Lincoln Memorial, Arlington National Cemetery, the Air & Space Museum (including the space shuttle Discovery!), Georgetown, the US Capitol, the National Cathedral, the National Museum of Health and Medicine, plus SO MUCH MORE AMAZINGNESS.

390153858

I saw (and captured) SO many insane sunsets.

390157104

Our friends at Bonfire Films filmed a scene for one of their projects, Tongue Tied, in our livingroom. It was pretty crazy to have this huge crew in our house — setting up cameras, moving our furniture around, having their home base in my office — but they are the nicest bunch of people in the world and it was such a cool experience.

390161943

I ate a truly insane amount of DELICIOUS food. Macaroni and cheese, BBQ, sundaes, tacos, BLTs, lobster, homemade pickles, noodle bowls, farm fresh strawberries, sushi, pizza… the list goes on and on. If you can’t tell… I LOVE food. 😉

390163329

I took SO MANY SELFIES. I really got some newfound confidence this year and decided why not just put it out there? I love the way I look, I’m happy with my body, and I want to show the world.

390164641

I also took a TON of selfies with friends and family, and seem to make the same face in (almost) every single one…

390165568

I spent a few days in Philadelphia with my good friend Cortney (and visiting my friends JJ and Scout). We were there for a wedding but decided we’d also have some fun with the trip — we snuggled with kitties, saw the LOVE Statue, walked around downtown, visited the Mütter Museum, and took SO many photos.

390167313

We also attended a book signing with HILLARY CLINTON and I got to shake her hand and chat with her for a minute. One of the highlights of my whole life, for sure.

Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 3.43.18 PM

The Philly skyline gets its own photo, too…

Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 3.46.03 PM

I got SIX tattoos between April and September, 5 of them thanks to Sam at Almost Famous Tattoo and 1 thanks to Gemma at Gemstone Tattoo!

390169308

I saw this crazy Transformers dude made out of old gears and screws somewhere in New Hampshire…

Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 3.50.27 PM

I visited Bar Harbor, which really needs to be a yearly tradition!

Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 3.52.29 PM

I added SO many new stickers to the back of my car. 🙂

390171037

I went on my first gondola ride at a wedding. It was SLIGHTLY terrifying but we lived. 😉

390171602

I did a boudoir session with the amazing Darling Photography, and had QUITE the wardrobe to choose from. Who knew I owned so much awesome underwear!? (I did.)

Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 4.00.00 PM

I went to several “Head Shot Days” with some local photographer friends and colleagues and have SO MANY awesome photos of myself now!

Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 4.01.29 PM

My good friend Brandon and his fiance Mika visited all the way from JAPAN! I sadly had to miss their wedding, but thankful that we got to enjoy dinner with them one night! MISS YOU NEENYO! And welcome to the family, Mika. 🙂

Screen Shot 2014-12-30 at 9.36.28 AM

My grandparents and two of my cousins came to visit and we had such an awesome time showing them around, eating delicious food, playing arcade games, visiting the beach, building a deck at my Mom’s house, visiting the islands, and just generally enjoying family time!

Screen Shot 2014-12-30 at 9.37.17 AM

390173928

We did an insane amount of prep work for my sister-in-law’s wedding. They had the whole celebration at their house (in their barn and back yard) so we did a ton of DIY. We painted trim and doors, mowed the lawn, raked, dug up stumps, built a deck, and countless other projects. It was good family bonding time. 😀

390175333

I had a photo shoot that I did become the Set of the Day on the Suicide Girls front page. One of my goals for the year and I was proud to accomplish it!

Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 4.07.59 PM

I went for my first full eye exam and had my pupils dilated. Weirdest feeling ever.

Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 4.09.38 PM

I was drawn by an incredible talented Redditor.

Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 4.11.33 PM

My Mom and I went to a rally with Mike Michaud and Bill Clinton and we got to meet Bill (for the second time!) and got a photo with him. I can now die happy.

Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 4.12.07 PM

I attended my sister-in-law’s wedding! It was 10 years in the making (literally, they got married on their 10-year anniversary) and the whole day was INCREDIBLE. A laid-back backyard celebration with DIY details, homemade food, a taco truck, and tons of Jack Daniels flowing…

390178456

We started a massive bathroom remodel (which still isn’t finished but that’s a story for another day…).

390180175

I dressed up Mukow as a pretty flower for Halloween…

Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 4.22.23 PM

I brought the bangs back!

Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 4.22.55 PM

We threw a killer Halloween party and I dressed up as Lydia Deetz.

390181631

My Mom and I attended another Mike Michaud rally, this time with BARACK OBAMA in attendance, and… I shook his hands. There are no words for how awesome it was.

Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 4.25.16 PM

My friend Tina and I went to An Evening with Ira Glass and I learned that my love for that man truly has no bounds.

Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 4.25.54 PM

I took my very first bath in our new JACUZZI TUB, a gift from my way-too-amazing husband. ❤

Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 4.27.35 PM

And to cap off the year, I had my hair changed up a bit to a sort of “dip dye” thanks to Tasha at O2 Salon!

Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 4.28.51 PM

3 thoughts on “This Year I…

Leave a Reply

